The Board of Governors

Skylark Federation Governing Board

The Skylark Federation consists of three primary schools: Barcombe CofE Primary School, Hamsey Community Primary School and Plumpton Primary School.  There is one Governing Board over the Federation and it consists of 2 Parent Governors, 2 Staff Governors including our Executive Headteacher, 1 Local Authority Governor, 3 Foundation Governors and 8 Co-Opted Governors including the three Heads of School. 

The governors' aim is to enable Skylark Federation schools to provide the best possible education for the children in a happy, stimulating environment.  They work to ensure that the experiences are provided at the school to enable every child to achieve their full potential, academically and socially. 

The governors work closely with Mr James as well as their staff. As school governors they are responsible for the strategic direction of the school; monitoring and evaluating the performance and effectiveness of the staff and ensuring that the children make appropriate progress in all areas of their education. They ensure that the budget is managed prudently, act as critical friends to the staff, monitor the school development plan and are involved in OFSTED school inspections.

The Governing Board may be contacted on:

T. 01273 890338 E. A. Southdowns, Plumpton Green, Lewes, East Sussex, BN7 3EB